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> <channel><title>Get Elastic Ecommerce Blog</title> <atom:link href="http://www.getelastic.com/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" /><link>http://www.getelastic.com</link> <description>#1 Subscribed Ecommerce Blog</description> <lastBuildDate>Fri, 03 Feb 2012 08:03:46 +0000</lastBuildDate> <language>en</language> <sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod> <sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency> <generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.2.1</generator> <item><title>Mobile Games: The Economics of Freemium [Infographic]</title><link>http://www.getelastic.com/economics-of-freemium-mobile-gaming/</link> <comments>http://www.getelastic.com/economics-of-freemium-mobile-gaming/#comments</comments> <pubDate>Fri, 03 Feb 2012 08:03:46 +0000</pubDate> <dc:creator>Linda Bustos</dc:creator> <guid
isPermaLink="false">http://www.getelastic.com/?p=14873</guid> <description><![CDATA[Who creates a game only to give it away for free? Where&#8217;s the $$ in that? The freemium business model is taking over &#8212; an estimated 65% of revenue generated by the 100 top grossing apps in the App Store, and an estimated 72% of total App Store revenue comes from freemium mobile games. In-game [...]]]></description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/mobile-gaming.gif" class="alignleft" />Who creates a game only to give it away for free? Where&#8217;s the $$ in that?</p><p>The freemium business model is taking over &#8212; an estimated <a
href="http://blog.flurry.com/bid/71993/Mobile-Freemium-Games-Gen-Y-Plays-but-Gen-X-Pays">65% of revenue</a> generated by the 100 top grossing apps in the App Store, and an estimated <a
href="http://www.joystiq.com/2011/09/20/study-in-game-transactions-account-for-72-of-iphone-app-revenu/" target="_blank">72% of total App Store revenue</a> comes from freemium mobile games. In-game purchases like extra lives, special powers, virtual goods and personalizations are driving the revenue.</p><p>This week&#8217;s <em>Infographic Friday</em> is homegrown, featuring snippets of findings from our latest research report <a
href="http://www.elasticpath.com/research-papers/mobile-gaming" target="_blank">Cashing in on the Smartphone Gaming Boom</a> that examine avid and causal mobile gamers&#8217; in-app spending habits.</p><p
align="center"><a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/economics-of-free-apps.gif" target="_blank"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/economics-of-free-apps-sm.gif" /></a></p><p
align="center"><em>Click image to enlarge</em></p><p>Thank you for tweeting and sharing! And don&#8217;t forget to <a
href="http://www.elasticpath.com/research-papers/mobile-gaming" target="_blank">check out the report</a>, with more juicy facts on avid and casual gamers.</p><p>If you would like to feature this infographic on your own site, the embed code is below.</p><p>LARGE (900 x 3240)</p><p><textarea rows="6" cols="75" onclick="this.focus(); this.select();"><br />
<a href="http://www.getelastic.com/economics-of-free-mobile-gaming/"><img src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/economics-of-free-apps.gif" /></a><br /><a href="http://www.getelastic.com">link will go here</a><br />
</textarea></p><p>MEDIUM (600 x 2160)</p><p><textarea rows="6" cols="75" onclick="this.focus(); this.select();"><br />
<a href="http://www.getelastic.com/economics-of-free-mobile-gaming/"><img src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/economics-of-free-apps-sm.gif" /></a><br />Via the <a href="http://www.getelastic.com">Get Elastic Ecommerce Blog</a><br />
</textarea></p> ]]></content:encoded> <wfw:commentRss>http://www.getelastic.com/economics-of-freemium-mobile-gaming/feed/</wfw:commentRss> <slash:comments>0</slash:comments> </item> <item><title>Ecommerce Links: January 2012</title><link>http://www.getelastic.com/ecommerce-links-january-2012/</link> <comments>http://www.getelastic.com/ecommerce-links-january-2012/#comments</comments> <pubDate>Wed, 01 Feb 2012 18:52:58 +0000</pubDate> <dc:creator>Linda Bustos</dc:creator> <guid
isPermaLink="false">http://www.getelastic.com/?p=14751</guid> <description><![CDATA[Before we dive into the links, there&#8217;s still time to register for Conversion Conference and Affiliate Management Days upcoming in March. I&#8217;ll be speaking on Remarketing and Checkout Optimization, respectively. I would love to connect! What could be worse than SOPA and PIPA? A similar Act on a global scale. Find out why some believe [...]]]></description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/link-digest3.jpg" class="alignleft" />Before we dive into the links, there&#8217;s still time to register for <a
href="http://www.conversionconference.com/ccw12-home.html" target="_blank">Conversion Conference</a> and <a
href="http://www.affiliatemanagementdays.com/sanfrancisco/2012" target="_blank">Affiliate Management Days</a> upcoming in March. I&#8217;ll be speaking on Remarketing and Checkout Optimization, respectively. I would love to connect!</p><ul><li>What could be worse than SOPA and PIPA? A similar Act on a global scale. Find out why some believe <a
href="http://mashable.com/2012/01/26/acta-more-dangerous-than-sopa/" target="_blank">ACTA ‘Is More Dangerous Than SOPA’</a>.</li></ul><ul><li>Even if you didn&#8217;t take your site offline to protest SOPA, it&#8217;s important that you know <a
href="http://www.seomoz.org/blog/how-to-handle-downtime-during-site-maintenance" target="_blank">How To Handle Downtime During Site Maintenance</a>. Make sure you don&#8217;t confuse search engines &#8212; it could impact your rankings.</li></ul><ul><li>HTML5 &#8211; this is why it&#8217;s hot. <a
href="http://paidcontent.org/article/419-amazon-scoots-past-apples-rules-with-web-based-ipad-kindle-store/" target="_blank">Amazon Scoots Past Apple’s Rules With HTML5 iPad Kindle Store</a>. If you recall, <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/apple-wants-30-when-the-wind-changes-adjust-your-sales/" target="_blank">Apple wants 30% of in-app revenue</a>, this is a good workaround.</li></ul><ul><li>While the 2012 predictions posts have for the most part died down, <a
href="http://seewhy.com/blog/2012/01/17/shopping-cart-abandonment-rate-set-to-rise-in-2012/" target="_blank">check out why shopping cart abandonment is set to rise in 2012.</a></li></ul><ul><li><a
href="http://blog.kissmetrics.com/how-netflix-measures-you/" target="_blank">How Netflix Measures You to Maximize Their Revenue &#038; How It Can Help Your Business</a> is a good reminder why you must calculate customer lifetime value to know how much you can spend to acquire a new one. PS: Netflix&#8217; LTV is 25 months and $291.25.</li></ul><ul><li>Fun fact: the top 5 passwords used at Gawker account for about 25% of all users. The #1 password is &#8212; wait for it &#8212; 123456 (over 3000 accounts!) For more reasons why you should be diligent to push users towards secure passwords, check out <a
href="http://www.lukew.com/ff/entry.asp?1487" target="_blank">Data Monday: Login &#038; Passwords</a>.</li></ul><ul><li>Spotted in the wild: a paid search ad that lands the user on a <a
href="http://betterretail.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/anns-ppc/">customer review page rather than a product page</a>. This is a great way to build user trust, no matter what you&#8217;re selling.</li></ul><ul><li>You know we love infographics, and this one comes to us via Econsultancy: <a
href="http://econsultancy.com/us/blog/8722-profiling-the-social-gamer-infographic" target="_blank">Profiling the Social Gamer</a>. Hint: it&#8217;s not an 18 year old boy.</li></ul><ul><li>The New York Times broke a story on an <a
href="http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/27/technology/for-2-a-star-a-retailer-gets-5-star-reviews.html" target="_blank">Amazon seller who offered refunds for 5 star reviews</a>. Is this gaming the system, or mere incentivizing word of mouth? You decide.</li></ul> ]]></content:encoded> <wfw:commentRss>http://www.getelastic.com/ecommerce-links-january-2012/feed/</wfw:commentRss> <slash:comments>1</slash:comments> </item> <item><title>6 Tips for Improving Twitter Link Click Through Rate</title><link>http://www.getelastic.com/6-tips-for-improving-twitter-link-click-through-rate/</link> <comments>http://www.getelastic.com/6-tips-for-improving-twitter-link-click-through-rate/#comments</comments> <pubDate>Mon, 30 Jan 2012 13:52:29 +0000</pubDate> <dc:creator>Linda Bustos</dc:creator> <guid
isPermaLink="false">http://www.getelastic.com/?p=14821</guid> <description><![CDATA[When it comes to sharing links through Twitter, what makes them click? Dan Zarella from HubSpot set out to answer that question, analyzing over 200,000 link-containing tweets, and measuring several characteristics that appear to influence click through. Dan&#8217;s findings are presented infographically (WordPress tells me this is not a word, but I don&#8217;t care), which [...]]]></description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/twitter-click.jpg" class="alignleft" />When it comes to sharing links through Twitter, what makes them click?</p><p>Dan Zarella from <a
href="http://www.hubspot.com/" target="_blank">HubSpot</a> set out to answer that question, analyzing over 200,000 link-containing tweets, and measuring several characteristics that appear to influence click through. Dan&#8217;s findings are <a
href="http://danzarrella.com/infographic-how-to-get-more-clicks-on-twitter.html" target="_blank">presented infographically</a> (WordPress tells me this is not a word, but I don&#8217;t care), which we will here break down tip-by-tip, along with some real-world examples.</p><p>Here goes&#8230;</p><h2>1. Write tweets between 120 and 130 characters long</h2><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/120-to-130.jpg" /></p><p>If you&#8217;re anything like me, your problem is trying to fit your message into a measly 140 characters. It&#8217;s reassuring that longer tweets don&#8217;t underperform shorter ones. But why would longer tweets get higher click through?</p><p>It could be that longer tweets have more context around the link. We&#8217;re not into random clicking for the fun of it. Short tweets can be vague, for example:</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/mistakes.jpg" /></p><p
align="center">versus</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/recommend.jpg" /></p><p>Does that mean never tweet short? No way. If you can evoke curiosity with a few words, do it.</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/whiskey-fungus.jpg" /></p><h2>2. Place links about 25% of the way through</h2><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/25-percent-through.jpg" /></p><p>This funny looking graph reveals that links at the beginning are cold, at the end are lukewarm, and a quarter of the way through are hot. I think this is a safe practice to adopt for every tweet &#8211; for whatever reason, it seems to work.</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/25.jpg" /></p><p>But why does it work? My theory is it has to do with the way we scan the web. Links at the end, well they trail off, and may be <em>noticed</em> less, similar to a cart button placed too far away from product info.</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/end-link.jpg" /></p><p>But consider it&#8217;s not all that important for some links to be clicked. Tweets are often posted simply to share interesting facts and ideas. Rand Fishkin&#8217;s tweet above is a stand-alone statement. He links to his inspiration as a reference, rather than a destination. A low click through rate would not be a failure.</p><h2>3. Choose the right words and phrases</h2><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/right-words-and-phrases.jpg" /></p><p>Apparently, you can double or triple your click through rate by including &#8220;via,&#8221; @name or &#8220;RT&#8221; in your post. These all imply that at least 2 people on the web like what you shared (you and the source). Hey, is twice as much <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/the-5-dimensions-of-social-proof-on-ecommerce-sites/" target="_blank">social proof</a> as you tweeting alone <img
src='http://www.getelastic.com/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_wink.gif' alt=';)' class='wp-smiley' /></p><p>Here&#8217;s a tip: ask your tweet-fluencial friends to share your website links using via, @you or RT if they&#8217;re not already.</p><h2>4. Use action words: more verbs, fewer nouns</h2><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/action-words.jpg" /></p><p>Adverbs like <em>beautifully, quickly, steadily, amazingly, quite</em> and <em>totally</em> can pump up your post. Here&#8217;s an example:</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/steadlily.jpg" /></p><p>&#8220;<em>Lomography is steadily growing and expanding its physical presence within the UK</em>&#8221; is more interesting than &#8220;<em>Lomography is growing and expanding its physical presence within the UK</em>.&#8221; Steadily suggests there are some insightful details after the click on &#8220;why&#8221; the company is growing. Adverbs work best if they add some interest to the subject matter.</p><p>If you can&#8217;t use an adverb, try a verb. &#8212; preferably command verbs, such as &#8220;Check (out) &#8230;&#8221;</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/geeksquad.jpg" /></p><h2>5. Experiment using the paper.li system</h2><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/daily-is-out.jpg" /></p><p>I&#8217;ll admit, this stumps me why daily digest posts achieve a mind-blowing 35% click-through. If you use Paper.li, track your click through rate through an app like <a
href="http://www.crowdbooster.com/" target="_blank">Crowdbooster</a> or <a
href="http://www.hootsuite.com/" target="_blank">Hootsuite</a> and see if your shares get these kind of results (and please share in the comments and make be a believer!)</p><h2>6. Tweet on the weekends</h2><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/tweet-weekends.jpg" /></p><p>No surprise here, tweet volume from marketers is understandably down on the weekends, so there&#8217;s a better chance your links are seen by weekend socializers. Schedule tweets in advance with Crowdbooster or Hootsuite, and of course monitor click-through vis-a-vis similar links during the work week.</p><p>Another tip: Check out (ah, see what I just did there?) <a
href="http://www.tweriod.com/" target="_blank">Tweriod</a>, an app that will tell you your ideal time to tweet based on your audience.</p><h2>Is that it?</h2><p>I love Dan&#8217;s analysis, but I&#8217;d like to see more research on the click-through effect of:</p><p><strong>Hashtag stuffing</strong></p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/walmart-hash.jpg" /></p><p>Hashtags are styled like links and could &#8220;drown out&#8221; the call to action. Do they help or harm a tweet?</p><p><strong>Affirmative verb at the beginning of the tweet?</strong></p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/watch.jpg" /></p><p>Does using a command at the beginning of a written sentence have the same impact as it does spoken (as in neuro-linguistic programming)?</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/amapp1.jpg" /></p><p><strong>Shortened vs. truncated</strong></p><p>Link shorteners conceal the domain behind the link, while truncated links may give clickers more confidence. They&#8217;re also longer, which may draw more attention (like a big checkout button). Does it matter?</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/17-styles.jpg" /></p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/customer-strategy.jpg" /></p><p><strong>Stand-out characters</strong></p><p>Do WORDS IN CAPS, little triangles or musical notes attract more attention? While they may not influence clicks, if the tweet is more likely to be noticed in the first place, it naturally has a higher chance of getting clicked.</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/journey.jpg" /></p><p><strong>Photo sharing</strong></p><p>Do links from Tweetphoto, Yfrog or Twitpic win more clicks because people crave multimedia content?</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/ofice.jpg" /></p><h2>How can Tweets be tested?</h2><p>Unfortunately, it&#8217;s not possible to A/B test tweets &#8211; yet (maybe someday there&#8217;ll be an app for that). If you&#8217;re handy with numbers, Rand Fishkin from SEOmoz has a <a
href="http://www.seomoz.org/blog/calculating-and-improving-your-twitter-clickthroughrate" target="_blank">process for hypothesis testing tweets</a> you can try. (Interestingly, Rand found shorter tweets produced higher click through in his analysis).</p><p>Again, click through isn&#8217;t the perfect measure of engagement or interest. You can&#8217;t count how many people read your tweet and got value out of it without retweeting or replying to you, but you can measure which tweets spurned the most unfollows with <a
href="http://tweeteffect.com/" target="_blank">Tweeteffect</a>. It&#8217;s a good idea to make note of <em>content</em> that causes an unusual exodus, regardless of the length, link placement, use of adverbs or time of day.</p> ]]></content:encoded> <wfw:commentRss>http://www.getelastic.com/6-tips-for-improving-twitter-link-click-through-rate/feed/</wfw:commentRss> <slash:comments>7</slash:comments> </item> <item><title>Social Networking Stats and Trends From Around the World</title><link>http://www.getelastic.com/social-networking-stats-and-trends-from-around-the-world/</link> <comments>http://www.getelastic.com/social-networking-stats-and-trends-from-around-the-world/#comments</comments> <pubDate>Fri, 27 Jan 2012 08:03:55 +0000</pubDate> <dc:creator>Linda Bustos</dc:creator> <guid
isPermaLink="false">http://www.getelastic.com/?p=14817</guid> <description><![CDATA[Kicking off our new weekly feature Infographic Friday are our friends at Invesp Consulting, who have compiled some interesting stats and trends on social networking from around the globe. Why does this matter to ecommerce? We have become a social networking culture, and this behavior is permeating every area of our lives. Even solo activities [...]]]></description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Kicking off our new weekly feature <em>Infographic Friday</em> are our friends at <a
href="http://www.invesp.com/" target="_blank">Invesp Consulting</a>, who have compiled some interesting stats and trends on social networking from around the globe.</p><p
align="center"><a
href="http://www.invesp.com/socialnetworking.jpg" target="_blank"><img
src="http://www.invesp.com/socialnetworking.jpg" alt="Social Networking - Statistics and Trends" width="500"></a></p><p>Why does this matter to ecommerce?</p><p>We have become a social networking culture, and this behavior is permeating every area of our lives. Even solo activities like using search engines is becoming socialized, as is shopping, travel, education and even work. Ecommerce organizations should be paying attention to the conversation about them, and starting their own conversations in the social-sphere. Innovative companies are also make the shopping experience more social on-site and through mobile apps. And what&#8217;s innovative today will just be &#8220;normal&#8221; in the next 2-5 years.</p> ]]></content:encoded> <wfw:commentRss>http://www.getelastic.com/social-networking-stats-and-trends-from-around-the-world/feed/</wfw:commentRss> <slash:comments>1</slash:comments> </item> <item><title>4 Reasons Why Entitlements Are The Future of Digital Content</title><link>http://www.getelastic.com/4-reasons-why-entitlements-are-the-future-of-digital-content/</link> <comments>http://www.getelastic.com/4-reasons-why-entitlements-are-the-future-of-digital-content/#comments</comments> <pubDate>Thu, 26 Jan 2012 08:30:11 +0000</pubDate> <dc:creator>David Chiu</dc:creator> <guid
isPermaLink="false">http://www.getelastic.com/4-reasons-why-entitlements-are-the-future-of-digital-content/</guid> <description><![CDATA[Not long ago, owning content meant holding a physical item – either you had a disc in hand, or you didn&#8217;t. Distribution and storage may have changed dramatically with digital formats, but ownership was still mostly defined by the files you had on your local device. Remember how iTunes reminded you to back up often [...]]]></description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/012512_2018_4ReasonsWhy11.jpg" alt="" width="236" height="281" align="left" /></p><p>Not long ago, owning content meant holding a physical item – either you had a disc in hand, or you didn&#8217;t. Distribution and storage may have changed dramatically with digital formats, but ownership was still mostly defined by the files you had on your local device. Remember how iTunes reminded you to back up often or risk losing everything? The <em>entitlement</em> or <em>right</em> to consume content has always been rooted in possession of the content itself.</p><p>But this model of ownership is becoming problematic as technology and customer sophistication advance. Better connectivity, cloud services, and the proliferation of multiple devices have all led to heightened expectations that purchased content should be available everywhere, synchronized across all screens, and accessible from any combination of cloud or local storage.</p><p>Delivering all of this with a system where rights are afforded by the simple possession of content would be almost impossible. Instead, today&#8217;s market strongly favors business models that monetize and manage <em>entitlements</em> (just the right to access content) separately from the storage, delivery, and presentation of the content itself.</p><p>It&#8217;s a subtle distinction, so let&#8217;s look at a few real-world examples of why strategies that focus on entitlements are so effective.</p><p>&nbsp;</p><p><strong>1. Entitlements are the perfect bridge between platforms</strong></p><p>Separately tracking customer rights to access content across incompatible devices is already common for subscription services such as Netflix or Spotify, as well as for publishers like the New York Times. Their simple entitlement models – one or two options that allow for unlimited consumption on any device – make it relatively easy for them, but this &#8220;all access&#8221; approach is also starting to show up in more complex products.</p><p>&nbsp;</p><p
style="text-align: center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/012512_2018_4ReasonsWhy21.jpg" alt="" width="314" height="195" /><img
class="aligncenter" src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/012512_2018_4ReasonsWhy31.png" alt="" width="478" height="255" /></p><p>By operating their own registration and entitlement systems outside the realm of any one platform like iOS or the Playstation Network, these companies maintain complete control over valuable customer data, while avoiding issues such as revenue sharing and restrictive covenants. Each device-specific application becomes a simple client that only has to check with the entitlement engine and then deliver the appropriate content to users. There&#8217;s no better way to provide a singular multi-platform experience in today&#8217;s fragmented landscape.</p><p>&nbsp;</p><p><strong>2. Entitlements can span formats</strong></p><p>Creating a master list of entitlements, regardless of how or where the original content was purchased, is the clever idea behind emerging digital services such as Apple&#8217;s iTunes Match and the DECE&#8217;s <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/will-the-dece-kill-the-netflix-star/">UltraViolet</a>.</p><p
style="text-align: center"><img
class="aligncenter" src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/012512_2018_4ReasonsWhy41.png" alt="" width="401" height="311" /></p><p
style="text-align: center"><img
class="aligncenter" src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/012512_2018_4ReasonsWhy51.jpg" alt="" width="487" height="235" /></p><p>&nbsp;</p><p>With these products, both the music and motion picture industries have recognized that the original format of purchase has become largely irrelevant. Consumers want a buy once, play anywhere experience where media purchased in any form, even physical, can be seamlessly transferred from one screen to another.</p><p>iTunes Match, for example, builds an entitlement list for each customer by scanning their devices for songs, regardless of where or how they were acquired. The primary motive for ripping CDs changes from transferring the music itself to obtaining an entitlement that provides digital access to those tracks from the iCloud. While this empowers consumers to consolidate their physical and digital music libraries into a single accessible collection, it also effectively transfers all control and responsibility for it to Apple.</p><p>Once fully realized, UltraViolet will work in a similar way, allowing the DECE to maintain a central repository of customers and their movie consumption rights. Like iTunes Match, the system leans heavily on entitlements to deliver a consistent ownership experience to users, regardless of how or where the original title was acquired.</p><p>&nbsp;</p><p> <strong>3. Entitlements are the key to incredible distribution opportunities</strong></p><p>Once separated from content, entitlements are flexible, independent entities that can be traded, monetized, or used to enhance other services. The best example of this in action is HBO Go, which has delivered more than 100 million video streams to over 5 million viewers – each one granted access based on an entitlement given to them by their cable carrier.</p><p
style="text-align: center"><img
class="aligncenter" src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/012512_2018_4ReasonsWhy61.jpg" alt="" width="473" height="356" /></p><p
style="text-align: center"><img
class="aligncenter" src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/012512_2018_4ReasonsWhy71.jpg" alt="" width="430" height="305" /></p><p>Notice how the purchase of a single entitlement (through cable fees) allows customers to access the same content delivered by a <em>completely separate entity</em> – in this case, HBO itself. Earlier this week, investment firm Needham &amp; Co. estimated that media companies could <a
href="http://advanced-television.com/index.php/2012/01/23/analyst-tv-everywhere-12bn-annual-revenue/" target="_blank">generate almost $12 billion in new revenue</a> just by extending entitlements to other devices through TV Everywhere services.</p><p>While the business negotiations for such deals may be complex, their technical prerequisite is simply an entitlement engine that can validate access rights. Once deployed, this can be opened up to partners via an API, creating a synchronized entitlement cloud capable of powering incredible distribution and revenue opportunities.</p><p>For example, imagine being able to pull up your own music, movies, or TV season passes on an inflight entertainment system. Or purchasing a show on one hotel television, continuing at your next destination, and then finishing up via another provider at home. The possibilities are endless.</p><p>&nbsp;</p><p><strong>4. Entitlements keep customers engaged</strong></p><p>The final reason to consider building a strategy around entitlements goes back to my previous post on <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/why-engagement-matters-most-in-digital-commerce/">why engagement matters most in digital commerce</a>. When customers entrust you with the permanent administration of their content, your business is held to far higher standards of product quality, user experience, performance and security than companies that simply sell things. While it may sound onerous, this forces you to build a better business. Just compare the fate of Barnes &amp; Noble, which invested heavily in an entitlement ecosystem, with competitor Borders, which is bankrupt.</p><p
style="text-align: center"><img
class="aligncenter" src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/012512_2018_4ReasonsWhy91.png" alt="" width="512" height="402" /></p><p>In return for becoming a system of record for entitlements, customers reward you with an almost unimaginable wealth of data about their assets, behavior, habits, and preferences, along with long-term opportunities for contextual selling and recurring revenue. It&#8217;s a win-win situation for businesses, and the most important reason why entitlement-based services like iTunes Match, UltraViolet, TV Everywhere, and the Nook Library represent the future of digital content.</p><p>&nbsp;</p><p
style="background: white"><p><strong>Looking for help with digital commerce?</strong></p><p
style="background: white"><p><em>A new report from Forrester Research examines the technology behind successful digital commerce, provides tactics for selecting a digital commerce solution, and looks at the digital commerce platforms available on the market today. Get your complimentary copy of <strong><a
href="http://www.elasticpath.com/research-papers/forrester-research-digital-commerce-solutions" target="_blank">Market Overview &#8211; Digital Commerce Solutions 2011</a></strong> here.</em></p><p
style="background: white"><span
style="color: #333333;font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span
style="font-size: 12px"><strong><br
/></strong></span></span></p> ]]></content:encoded> <wfw:commentRss>http://www.getelastic.com/4-reasons-why-entitlements-are-the-future-of-digital-content/feed/</wfw:commentRss> <slash:comments>0</slash:comments> </item> <item><title>Are Your CPCs Out Of Control? 5 Ways To Rein Them In</title><link>http://www.getelastic.com/are-your-cpcs-out-of-control-5-ways-to-rein-them-in/</link> <comments>http://www.getelastic.com/are-your-cpcs-out-of-control-5-ways-to-rein-them-in/#comments</comments> <pubDate>Wed, 25 Jan 2012 08:03:35 +0000</pubDate> <dc:creator>Linda Bustos</dc:creator> <guid
isPermaLink="false">http://www.getelastic.com/?p=14748</guid> <description><![CDATA[It&#8217;s easy to spend too much money on pay-per-click. The infographic below (source) breaks down Google&#8217;s top spenders in Google Adwords, but also highlights how CPCs (cost per click) vary across industries. While some of these click prices are not surprising, like for health insurance or wireless Internet deals (high ticket value and/or recurring revenue), [...]]]></description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/mouse-click.jpg" class="alignleft" />It&#8217;s easy to spend too much money on pay-per-click.</p><p>The infographic below (<a
href="http://www.wordstream.com/blog/ws/2012/01/23/google-revenues" target="_blank">source</a>) breaks down Google&#8217;s top spenders in Google Adwords, but also highlights how CPCs (cost per click) vary across industries.</p><p>While some of these click prices are not surprising, like for health insurance or wireless Internet deals (high ticket value and/or recurring revenue), others like &#8216;zumba dance dvd&#8217; are considerably high relative to retail prices. According to Google Shopping, these vids sell between $18 and $90. An average CPC of $5.18, even at the high end of margin, is an alarming cost.</p><p>It&#8217;s also interesting to note Lowe&#8217;s and Home Depot <em>spend more</em> on paid search per year than Amazon and eBay, with smaller catalogs. Without making assumptions about campaign efficiency, hypothetically speaking, it&#8217;s possible to advertise on more keywords and drive more traffic at lower campaign spend than your competition if you run a tighter ship.</p><p
align="center"><a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/adwords2.jpg" target="_blank" /><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/adwords1-350x1024.jpg" /></a></p><p
align="center"><em>Click infographic to enlarge</em></p><p>So how do you run a tighter PPC ship? Here are 5 things to keep in mind.</p><p><strong>1. Know your limit, bid within it.</strong></p><p>Your bidding strategy requires an understanding of what you can afford to pay per click (max CPC). Very simply, if your profit margin on a Zumba Dance DVD is $20, and you can achieve a 3% conversion rate through paid search, your maxiumum CPC is $20*0.03 or $0.60. Anything higher than this and you are hemorrhaging money.</p><p>However, you often need to bid even lower than your max CPC to cover the overhead of running your paid search campaign. For this you want to estimate a target ROI percentage. This <a
href="http://www.scottboulch.com/max_cpc.html" target="_blank">calculator</a> can help you determine your max CPC with this in mind.</p><p>Bidding strategies are complex and beyond the scope of this article, but the key is to ensure you are not bidding based on Google&#8217;s Traffic Estimator or first page bid estimates alone.</p><p><strong>2. Always be negative.</strong></p><p>Keyword match types have their trade-offs. Exact match is great for control, but limits your long-tail opportunity. If you go broad, you may pull in a lot of seaweed with your catch. Negative keyword research is essential when using broad match types to prevent your ads from showing for irrelevant keyword matches.</p><p>For example, a text-to-speech product bidding on &#8220;French speaking software&#8221; may be triggered for the keyword &#8220;learn to speak French.&#8221; Adding &#8220;learn&#8221; to a list of negative keywords can prevent unnecessary impressions (which dilute click through rate) and irrelevant clicks.</p><p>Negative keyword research is an ongoing practice. You can <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/negative-keyword-research-tools-tips/" target="_blank">discover negative keywords</a> with the Google Keyword Tool, Google Suggest, Google Search (visit pages returned in search results for the keyword) and my personal favorite, the <a
href="http://ask.enquiro.com/2010/viewing-adwords-search-query-terms-let-us-count-the-ways/" target="_blank">Search Query Performance Report</a>.</p><p><strong>3. Be structured.</strong></p><p>Certain keywords deserve their own Ad Groups, negative keywords, ad text and landing pages. This allows you to optimize messaging for better click through. For example, &#8220;Zumba DVD box set&#8221; could be separated from the general &#8220;Zumba DVD&#8221; group, and &#8220;box set&#8221; added as a negative keyword to the general &#8220;Zumba DVD&#8221; group. In addition to higher click through, the more focused landing page will likely boost your Quality Score as well. Both can reduce what you pay per click.</p><p><strong>4. Always be testing.</strong></p><p>Testing landing pages to improve conversion helps raise the ceiling on your max CPCs.</p><p><strong>5. Consider search retargeting</strong></p><p>In very competitive and expensive search categories, one little-known way to work get in front of eyeballs without paying astronomical CPCs is to use search retargeting with a service like <a
href="http://www.chango.com/" target="_blank">Chango</a>, <a
href="http://www.retargeter.com/">Retargeter</a>, <a
href="http://www.magnetic.is/" target="_blank">Magnetic</a> or <a
href="http://simpli.fi/" target="_blank">Simpli.fi</a>. Unlike site retargeting which follows visitors who have abandoned your site, search retargeting can display your ad around the web to visitors that have not seen your site yet.</p><p>For example, let&#8217;s say someone searches for &#8220;video conferencing software.&#8221; She does not see your ad (you do not need to use Adwords to use search retargeting), rather she clicks an organic listing which is in the data pool used by the retargeting network. A cookie is placed on her machine including the search referral keyword. Later in the week, she checks the forecast on the Weather Network, and your ad appears. The CPM or CPC through the retargeting network could be much lower than the $35 per click charged in Google.</p><p>Paid search is an important marketing activity but it&#8217;s not the only way to drive traffic. Know what you can afford to spend, keep optimizing your campaign and landing pages to improve efficiency, and look for other opportunities when costs per click exceed what is reasonable for your business.</p> ]]></content:encoded> <wfw:commentRss>http://www.getelastic.com/are-your-cpcs-out-of-control-5-ways-to-rein-them-in/feed/</wfw:commentRss> <slash:comments>3</slash:comments> </item> <item><title>How Bounce Rate Optimization Can Improve Your Search Rankings</title><link>http://www.getelastic.com/how-bounce-rate-optimization-can-improve-your-search-rankings/</link> <comments>http://www.getelastic.com/how-bounce-rate-optimization-can-improve-your-search-rankings/#comments</comments> <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jan 2012 08:03:04 +0000</pubDate> <dc:creator>Linda Bustos</dc:creator> <guid
isPermaLink="false">http://www.getelastic.com/?p=14735</guid> <description><![CDATA[Straight from Google&#8217;s Quality Guidelines comes the mantra for the white-hat SEO community: &#8220;Build your site for users, not search engines.&#8221; And Google means it. The search giant disclosed its latest algorithm update includes page layout as a ranking factor, with a focus on how much above-the-fold real estate is dedicated to visible content vs. [...]]]></description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/bounce-rate1.jpg" class="alignleft" />Straight from Google&#8217;s <a
href="http://support.google.com/webmasters/bin/answer.py?hl=en&#038;answer=35769#3" target="_blank">Quality Guidelines</a> comes the mantra for the white-hat SEO community: &#8220;Build your site for users, not search engines.&#8221; And Google means it.</p><p>The search giant disclosed its <a
href="http://googlewebmastercentral.blogspot.com/2012/01/page-layout-algorithm-improvement.html" target="_blank">latest algorithm update</a> includes page layout as a ranking factor, with a focus on how much above-the-fold real estate is dedicated to visible content vs. advertising or other distracting, useless shiny things (like splash pages).</p><p>Google states that customer feedback influenced this change, as it&#8217;s no surprise that sites with buried content make for a crummy user experience, as do pages that load slowly &#8212; another user-experience related ranking factor.</p><p><strong>Design for Users &#8211; No, Seriously.</strong></p><p>Google is open about its consideration of page load speed, and now page layout &#8212; but read between the lines, and you understand that it&#8217;s bounce rate that matters. And I mean bounce rate in the context of users pogo-sticking back and forth between search results (web pages) and SERPs (search engine result pages). This behavior is a strong indicator of which pages are truly relevant to a given keyword phrase, and which fail to deliver.</p><p>For example, if your page&#8217;s content and incoming links suggest high relevance for the search query &#8220;learn to speak french,&#8221; but you consistently have a high bounce rate and very short average time on page before users return to search to try other results, Google&#8217;s simply not going to want to keep ranking you highly. Whether the reason for your high bounce rate is too much non-content above the fold, painfully slow page loads, cluttered and confusing design or something else.</p><p>So, BRO (Bounce Rate Optimization &#8212; come on, you like this acronym) should be a priority, not just for hanging on to the visitors that arrive on your site, but to help keep those visitors comin&#8217; through search engines.</p><p><strong>How to Improve Bounce Rates</strong></p><ul><li>Page load speed optimization</li><li>User testing</li><li>A/B and Multivariate testing</li></ul><p>In that order.</p><p>Why?</p><p><a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/site-speed-optimization-checklist-tailored-to-your-site/" target="_blank">Improving page load speed</a> is low-hanging fruit. It can be performed without user involvement, and takes care of one of the biggest usability issues right off the bat.</p><p>User testing should be next, not that it&#8217;s any quicker or easier than quantitative methods like A/B and multivariate testing, but the insights you get from real people can help you make better testing decisions. There&#8217;s no point testing a whack of site elements that never were problematic for users in the first place.</p><p>Finally, <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/category/conversion-optimization-marketing/site-testing-conversion-optimization-marketing-marketing/" target="_blank">A/B and multivariate testing</a> is the process that helps you quantify the impact of changes against the status quo, rather than just making changes and hoping for the best. Use your web analytics to determine which pages to optimize first. Remember to segment traffic source to Google, and hone in on bounce rate <em>by keyword</em>. Look for pages that get high amounts of traffic, with higher than average bounce rate.</p><p>Designing for users <em>is</em> designing for search engines. Expect more algorithmic updates in the coming months that favor pages that keep users on-site.</p> ]]></content:encoded> <wfw:commentRss>http://www.getelastic.com/how-bounce-rate-optimization-can-improve-your-search-rankings/feed/</wfw:commentRss> <slash:comments>10</slash:comments> </item> <item><title>How Facebook’s New Open Graph Features Impact fCommerce</title><link>http://www.getelastic.com/open-graph-gestures/</link> <comments>http://www.getelastic.com/open-graph-gestures/#comments</comments> <pubDate>Fri, 20 Jan 2012 03:48:40 +0000</pubDate> <dc:creator>Linda Bustos</dc:creator> <guid
isPermaLink="false">http://www.getelastic.com/?p=14678</guid> <description><![CDATA[Facebook announced yesterday regarding its developer platform &#8212; namely, new features in its Open Graph are now available to all application developers. The new features were no secret, but we can now see them in action from 60 partner applications involved in the Open Graph Beta including Netflix, Hulu, Zynga, Spotify, Washington Post and Kobo. [...]]]></description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/fbook-apps.jpg" class="alignleft" />Facebook announced yesterday regarding its developer platform &#8212; namely, new features in its Open Graph are now available to all application developers.</p><p>The <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/social-grammar.jpg" target="_blank">new features were no secret</a>, but we can now see them in action from <a
href="http://www.facebook.com/about/timeline/apps" target="_blank">60 partner applications</a> involved in the Open Graph Beta including Netflix, Hulu, Zynga, Spotify, Washington Post and Kobo.</p><p>So what&#8217;s the big deal?</p><h2>2 New Features for Facebook Open Graph</h2><p>Open Graph applications use elements of the development platform to provide ‘frictionless sharing’ to Facebookers’ Timelines and Tickers, which will also appear in friends’ News Feeds.</p><p>While Open Graph apps like the Washington Post have enabled social sharing for some time now, there are 2 major changes:</p><p><strong>Gestures</strong></p><p>Apps can use their own verbs (Gestures). In addition to ‘Like’ ‘Share’ and ‘Recommend,’ you can ‘Want,’ ‘Heart,’ ‘Listen,’ ‘Purchase’ &#8212; or pretty much any other verb within Facebook’s guidelines (of being simple, genuine and non-abusive). For example, Netflix could say ‘Colby just added Limitless to his queue.’</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/sharing.jpg" /></p><p><strong>Frictionless Sharing</strong></p><p>Frictionless Sharing is a warm and fuzzy term for auto-publishing. The new feature makes sharing the Gesture the default. Users permit the app to share once, rather than go through the ‘friction’ of approving every single action for publishing.</p><p><iframe
width="500" height="281" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/q3b94kFBah8?fs=1&#038;feature=oembed" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe></p><p><em>Email and RSS subscribers: can&#8217;t see video? <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/open-graph-gestures/" target="_blank">View this post on Get Elastic</a></em></p><h2>What this means for Facebook users</h2><p>If you hate the ticker and news feed now, you’re really going to hate it once it’s spammed with every single micro-activity your social network performs online.</p><p>You’ll also need to be careful about which apps you enable to auto-publish for you. Think about what you might not care to share, or what might not be an expression of yourself. For example, if you sample songs on Pandora, it doesn’t mean you like or recommend them. If you rent movies for your kids to watch, it doesn&#8217;t mean you are watching them.</p><h2>What this means for Ecommerce</h2><p>For brands, this certainly presents an opportunity to pump your word of mouth marketing full of steroids, particularly if your ecommerce business sells digital content such as books, news articles, music, movies and TV shows. Such products are inherently shareable &#8212; people have been discussing what they’ve watched and listened to read offline for years.</p><p>Physical goods retailers can leverage social and shopping apps that are already available, like Pinterest, Payvment or online gift card marketplace GiftRocket.</p><p>Commercial brands that successfully build relevant, experience-based apps like the Nike+ Running Monitor should get a lot of mileage out of these new features &#8212; no pun intended.</p><p>If you plan to develop or simply tweak your existing Facebook Application to include Gestures, check out the <a
href="http://developers.facebook.com/docs/opengraph/checklist/" target="_blank">Open Graph Checklist</a>. Facebook apps depend on approvals like the Apple App Store, and your Gestures must be in line with Facebooks requirements.</p> ]]></content:encoded> <wfw:commentRss>http://www.getelastic.com/open-graph-gestures/feed/</wfw:commentRss> <slash:comments>1</slash:comments> </item> <item><title>Why Google+ Matters to Ecommerce + 9 Things You Should Do About It</title><link>http://www.getelastic.com/why-google-matters-to-ecommerce-9-things-you-should-do-about-it/</link> <comments>http://www.getelastic.com/why-google-matters-to-ecommerce-9-things-you-should-do-about-it/#comments</comments> <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jan 2012 08:02:31 +0000</pubDate> <dc:creator>Linda Bustos</dc:creator> <guid
isPermaLink="false">http://www.getelastic.com/?p=14697</guid> <description><![CDATA[If you frequent tech and marketing blogs, by now you’ve heard about Google’s latest major change to search – Search Plus Your World (or SPYW, possibly pronounced as “spew”). Google now offers a “personal results” option for logged-in Google Account users that incorporates content shared by connections within Google+ and Gmail contacts (pretty much anyone [...]]]></description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/googleplus.jpg" class="alignleft" />If you frequent tech and marketing blogs, by now you’ve heard about Google’s latest major change to search – <a
href="http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2012/01/search-plus-your-world.html" target="_blank">Search Plus Your World</a> (or SPYW, possibly pronounced as “spew”).</p><p>Google now offers a “personal results” option for logged-in Google Account users that incorporates content shared by connections within Google+ and Gmail contacts (pretty much anyone in your email history with a Gmail address).</p><p>For example, a search for ‘handbag’ shows me 10 personal results, one being Zappos, which I have added to my Google+ Circles.</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/personal-results.jpg" /></p><p>Clicking the link shows me my contacts’ shared content.</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/personal-handbag-results.jpg" /></p><p>Smart Zappos uses Google+ to share photos as well as informative articles that stand out in these kind of results. Zappos needs not to be in one’s Circle to appear, if a Google+ friend or Gmail contact has shared Zappos’ posting, it will also show up.</p><h2>How SPYW Transforms Word-of-Mouth Marketing</h2><p>While social sharing through Twitter and Facebook is good (and cheap) word-of-mouth for brands, Tweets and Likes have a very short half-life. The more Facebook friends you have, the quicker your Ticker updates. News Feeds are condensed to show only the most “relevant” stories, <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/edgerank-explained/" target="_blank">thanks to EdgeRank</a>. Even if shares are noticed, if they are not relevant at that given time, they get lost in the haystack of updates.</p><p>Search Plus Your World obliterates the half life, hanging on to and indexing these shares and resurrecting them when they are relevant to a user. Who cares what Jessie, Joey and Johnny think about TurboTax until you’re in the market for tax software?</p><p>If Google could work a deal with other social networks like Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn, it would really provide value to users. (Hey, it could happen!) But for now, if you want to show up in personal results, you&#8217;ve gotta drink the Googleaid.</p><h2>How Search Plus Your World Affects Ecommerce</h2><p>It’s obvious participating in Google+ helps your visibility in personal results. But it’s also likely that Google is or will factor social shares as a trust signal, and thus a ranking factor. Spammy sites don’t tend to get organic shares, so it&#8217;s one way to spot chaff among wheat. Because Google has full visibility into Google+, it’s easy to spot the fake “sock puppet” accounts &#8212;  it&#8217;s tougher to game the system.</p><p><a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/social-link-building-the-latest-fashion-in-seo/" target="_blank">Social link building</a> is becoming as important as old school link building. If you think you don’t need to invest in Google+ until it hits critical mass, or until you can demonstrate a “measurable ROI” from your efforts, competitors who do grok the Plus could leave you in their dust in traditional search rankings, not just personal results.</p><h2>What You Should Do About Google+</h2><p>1. <strong>Put the Google+ chicklet</strong> on all your site pages<br
/> 2. <strong>Treat the chicklet like a call to action</strong> (don’t bury it, consider testing placement for best engagement, measure clicks on the button as a micro-conversion metric, etc.)<br
/> 3. <strong>Appoint someone in your organization</strong> or an outsourced specialist to own your Google+ marketing effort (this can be part of a larger social media role)<br
/> 4. <strong>Share images and video content regularly</strong>, tag appropriately with keywords (multimedia content stands out in search and may be weighted higher, also more likely to be shared by others)<br
/> 5. <strong>Optimize your shares</strong> like you would for <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/17-styles-of-twitter-updates-for-online-retailers/" target="_blank">Twitter</a> or the <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/news-feed-optimization-14-ideas-to-get-noticed-in-facebook/" target="_blank">Facebook Newsfeed</a><br
/> 6. <strong>Encourage Facebook and Twitter subscribers</strong> to also follow you on Google+<br
/> 7. <strong>Segment your email subscriber list</strong> and target Gmail accounts with a special request to add you their Circles (along with the benefits of doing so)<br
/> 8. <strong>Use Google+ as a microblog</strong> to give product usage tips, feature customer reviews, announce new products and sales events, etc.<br
/> 9. <strong>Engage in “social listening”</strong> within Google+, find out who’s talking about you and engage with them. Activity across the network may give your social profile a bit more clout with Google when personalizing results, similar to EdgeRank’s Affinity Score.</p><p>While Twitter and Facebook are still important networks to nurture, Google+ deserves serious attention. If you want to be found in social search, now is the best time to start seeding the search engine with your content.</p> ]]></content:encoded> <wfw:commentRss>http://www.getelastic.com/why-google-matters-to-ecommerce-9-things-you-should-do-about-it/feed/</wfw:commentRss> <slash:comments>12</slash:comments> </item> <item><title>5 Reasons Why Your Gut Feel Stinks</title><link>http://www.getelastic.com/5-reasons-why-your-gut-feel-stinks/</link> <comments>http://www.getelastic.com/5-reasons-why-your-gut-feel-stinks/#comments</comments> <pubDate>Mon, 16 Jan 2012 17:14:00 +0000</pubDate> <dc:creator>Linda Bustos</dc:creator> <guid
isPermaLink="false">http://www.getelastic.com/?p=14345</guid> <description><![CDATA[We conversion optimization specialists are always banging the &#8220;don&#8217;t rely on your gut feel&#8221; drum, and telling you that you have to test everything or perish in a horrible pyre of mediocre KPI performance. While it&#8217;s true that our guts often get it wrong and testing can help that, they also influence testing. Most tests [...]]]></description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/gut-feel.jpg" class="alignleft"/>We conversion optimization specialists are always banging the &#8220;don&#8217;t rely on your gut feel&#8221; drum, and telling you that you have to test everything or perish in a horrible pyre of mediocre KPI performance.</p><p>While it&#8217;s true that our guts often get it wrong and testing can help that, they also influence testing. Most tests are set up based on a gut feeling that changing XYZ will cause a lift. We may have an &#8220;informed opinion&#8221; based on research, best practices or case study references, but some of our beliefs are shaped by the following 5 factors:</p><p><strong>1. Gender</strong></p><p>In general, guys and gals tend to shop differently, both offline and online. While user experience demands are quite similar between the sexes, save a man&#8217;s &#8220;<a
href="http://www.websiteoptimization.com/speed/tweak/usability-criteria/" target="_blank">need for speed</a>,&#8221; men are typically &#8220;buyers&#8221; (get in and get out) and women are &#8220;shoppers&#8221; (open to browsing or &#8220;window shopping&#8221; online). <a
href="http://www.dmnews.com/study-men-prefer-coupons-women-prefer-sale-items/article/89025/" target="_blank">Men prefer coupons</a>, and women prefer sales. Women and men demonstrate different navigation and <a
href="http://www.joehallock.com/edu/COM498/preferences.html" target="_blank">color preferences</a> and may respond differently to your site&#8217;s design. They respond to <a
href="http://www.grokdotcom.com/2007/04/30/do-men-and-women-process-images-differently/" target="_blank">images</a> and even <a
href="http://www.grokdotcom.com/2008/03/14/do-men-and-women-laugh-at-the-same-ads/" target="_blank">humor</a> differently, so it&#8217;s likely when we ourselves are making design decisions, we may be biased by our own biology. Smart testers challenge what appeals to themselves vs. what might appeal to an opposite, whether by gender or another characteristic.</p><p><strong>2. Personality Type</strong></p><p>If you&#8217;re familiar with the <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/optimizing-product-reviews-for-different-buyer-personalities/" target="_blank">4 buying modalities</a>, you understand why some people respond more to impulse offers (the Spontaneous), others want the latest model (the Competitive), some will read every product review, starting with the negative ones (the Methodical), and others want the human touch in their buying experience (the Humanistic).</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/celebrity-personas.jpg" target="_blank"></p><p>If you ration that &#8220;When I shop, I want to do X, Y or Z, therefore our website should be like <em>this</em>,&#8221; you may make design and content decisions that don&#8217;t speak to most of your customers. <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/personas-101-what-are-they-and-why-should-i-care/" target="_blank">Persona development</a> can help you think like a customer, and test with real customers that are different than you to understand where the gaps in your user experience are.</p><p><strong>3. Level of Tech Savvy</strong></p><p>If you&#8217;re reading <a
href="http://www.getelastic.com/" target="_blank">Get Elastic</a>, chances are you work on the Web, and using the Web comes naturally. It&#8217;s easy to forget that some folks don&#8217;t know how to sort search results, may not understand how to use a promo code or the difference between log in and sign up. It boggles our minds how conversion could drop when a website redesign fixes glaring usability problems and gets a significant aesthetic upgrade. For this reason, our technorati guts often get it wrong. We need the help of the average &#8216;Net Joe. This is especially true with mobile experiences.</p><p><strong>4. Your Industry Experience</strong></p><p>Being an expert in your business can make you very far removed from your customers. Your information architecture may make sense to everyone internally, but not to prospects (especially if your product is unique and innovative). Not everyone understands your terminology or knows how to navigate your website intuitively. If you&#8217;re very passionate about your products, you may (erroneously) believe every site visitor is going to devour your web copy page by page, word for word, and wonder why conversion rates are stuck when there&#8217;s so much information about the benefits of your goods.</p><p>Steve Krug&#8217;s legendary book <em>Don&#8217;t Make Me Think</em> illustrates this perfectly:</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/what-we-design-for.jpg" /></p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/the-reality.jpg" /></p><p>Usability studies with prospects unfamiliar to your company can be quite eye-opening.</p><p><strong>5. Your Role in Your Organization</strong></p><p>Once again, <em>Don&#8217;t Make Me Think</em> nails it. Your opinion of the website may depend on what role you play in the company. Branding and marketing folks may have different ideas from UX leads and designers. Or C-level executives may have different views of the web site from the web sales team.</p><p
align="center"><img
src="http://www.getelastic.com/wp-content/uploads/pizazz.jpg" /></p><p>What matters is how your customer feels about your site. Don&#8217;t make decisions in absence of customer testing / feedback.</p><p><strong>Is Gut Feel All Bad?</strong></p><p>Despite its shortcomings, we can embrace our gut feel. We should apply experience and intuition to web decisions &#8212; including how we design our A/B and multivariate tests. But it&#8217;s important that we recognize our own bias and how it influences the decisions we make, so we can design experiments that challenge our own beliefs to truly learn what works and does not on our websites.</p> ]]></content:encoded> <wfw:commentRss>http://www.getelastic.com/5-reasons-why-your-gut-feel-stinks/feed/</wfw:commentRss> <slash:comments>4</slash:comments> </item> </channel> </rss>
